The Catcher In The Rye – J D Salinger

Seven novels and plays that I studied as part of the circulum whilst at school really stood out for me and they were:

1) The Duchess of Malfi- a Jacobean macabre gore fest

2) Tess of the D’Urbevilles – Hardy’s classic heroine

4) Eminent Victorians – caustic and amusing

4) Richard III- “…sent before my time into breathing world scarce half made up and so lamely and unfashionable that dogs do bark at me as I halt by them…”

5)  One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich – Siberian prison camp. gruelling.

6) Brighton Rock – gangster heaven 

And …

No. 7) The Catcher in the Rye.  So JD Salinger I thank you and salute your memory.

J D Salinger (1919-2010)

 Read more here.

Leave a Reply

